Van Horn Field
| Location |
Description
Football field, open and covered stands, locker rooms, tennis courts
This property continued in use after 1949. Post-1949 research is not yet completed.
Formal Names
Van Horn Field
Named For
Frank R. Van Horn, faculty
Constructed
ca. 1901-?
Occupants
ca.1901-1949+: Case
Uses
ca.1901-1949+: Athletics and recreation
Ceremonies
Dedication: 5/23/1958
Trivia
First Case athletic field
Alterations and Modifications
Description
1910: Replaced bleachers with grandstand on west side
Architect
B. B. Roberts and J. G. Esch
Cost
$5,000
Alterations and Modifications
Description
1926: Moved athletic field 70' to south for construction of Bingham
General Contractor
W. J. Watson and Associates
Cost
$18,000 estimated
Financing
Operating funds of $6,000; Gift of $12,000 estimated from Case Athletic Association
Alterations and Modifications
Description
1927: Built bleachers on south side
Cost
$2,400 estimated
Financing
gift of $2,400 from Case Athletic Association
Alterations and Modifications
Description
1935: Paved driveways
Cost
$5,000
Financing
Gifts of various amounts from various donors
Alterations and Modifications
Description
ca. late 1941: Razed east stands for parking lot
1/1942: Razed covered stands, expanded locker rooms beneath
This summary was compiled by staff of the University Archives from sources in the custody of the Archives.
Previous Building A-Z List Next Building | Previous Building Chronological List Next Building